Restoring the system or communication device by erasing files is very much easier. You may manually delete valuable information, there are methods of deleting current data from Android, Mac, iOS and Windows OS. Here are the steps you need to follow.

How to Erase Everything from iPhone in Just three Steps?

Step 1: Tap on ‘Settings’ icon you would observe on the homescreen.

Step 2: Scroll down and select ‘General’ option.

Step 3: Finally, select ‘Reset’ and later ‘Delete All Content and Settings’.

NOTE: Even when you have deleted everything through the above process, you can recover data from a tool or a software. This is because the data is stored somewhere in the memory.

How to Erase Everything from Android OS?

Resetting the Android smartphone can be accomplished by a factory reset. It deletes the addresses related with data but doesn’t overwrite the information. So, let’ have a look as to how everything can be done.

Initially, you need to disable the Factory Reset Protection (FRP) before you start off with the factory reset.

Step 1: Depending on the brand, the first step differs slightly. On Samsung Galaxy, go to ‘Settings >> Lock Screen and security >> Screen Lock’ followed by ‘none. But if you are using Google Pixel, then you need to navigate to ‘Settings >> Personal >> Security >> Screen lock’ and finally with ‘None’ option.

Step 2: You then need to remove the Google account. For Samsung Galaxy, navigate to ‘Settings >> Cloud & Accounts >> Accounts’ and tap on Google. Then you have to tap the vertical dots to go to ‘More >> Remove Account’. But for Google Pixel, go to ‘Settings >> Accounts & Sync >> Google’ and tap the dots to select ‘Remove Account’.

NOTE: You have to follow an additional step if you’re using a Samsung Galaxy smartphone. Navigate to ‘Settings >> Lock screen and security >> Find My Mobile’. Afterwards, select ‘More >> Remove Account’.

IMG-3

Next, you should encrypt the information that’s stored on the handset.

Step 1: Charge you phone completely by connecting it to a charger. The process may take time depending on how much data is stored on the handset.

Step 2: Go to ‘Settings >> Security >> Encrypt Phone’. If you’re working with Samsung Galaxy handset, then navigate to ‘Settings >> Lock Screen & security >> Protect Encrypted Data’.

IMG-4

Finally, factory reset the handset.

IMG-5

Before moving forward, ensure that you have taken data backup. Simply, go to ‘Settings >> Backup & reset >> Factory data reset’. At the end, tap ‘Reset Phone’ or device.

Once you are dead sure that the device is in its original state, overwrite encrypted data with junk data. This can easily be achieved by Secure Erase with iShredder 5, an app available on the play store.

How to Wipe Off Mac OS X Completely?

Before you wipe the operating system, backing up data on an external storage drive or hard drive is always a good idea.

Step 1: Open the Apple Menu (A black icon at the upper-left hand corner).

Apple Menu

Step 2: Click ‘Restart’ and confirm the action through the message box.

IMG-6

Step 3: While system reboots, press and hold ‘Command + R’.

Step 4: Release the keys and select ‘Disk Utility’ from the ‘Mac OS Utilites’ window followed by ‘Continue’.

OS X Utilities

Step 5: Click the concerned hard drive and then click ‘Erase’.

os-x-utilities-1

Step 6: Type ‘Mac OS Extended (Journaled)’ and click on the ‘Format’ drop-down menu. For a secure wipe, select the option ‘MAC OS Extended (Journaled, Encrypted)’.

OS X Utilities 2

Step 7: Finally, click ‘erase’ to trigger the process of deletion. Depending on the amount of data stored, the process might take some time.

How to Erase Windows OS Completely?

Step 1: Select ‘Start’ and go to ‘Control Panel >> System and Security’ followed by ‘Restore your computer to an Earlier Time’.

Step 3: Next, click ‘Advanced Recovery Methods’ and go to ‘Return your Computer to Factory Condition’.

Step 4: Click ‘Next’ to complete the process through various instructions.

Step 5: Click ‘Restart’ to confirm the action. Although restoration process removes old data, old user files are stored in ‘Windows.old’ folder. So, you have to remove the ‘Windows.old’ folder.

Step 1: Click ‘Start’ and go to ‘All Programs >> Accessories >> System Tools >> Disk Cleanup’. If requested, click on the desired hard drive and ‘OK’ to open Disk Cleanup Window.

Step 2: Select ‘Clean Up System Files’ and check the option ‘Previous Windows Installation(s)’. Confirm through ‘Delete Files’ through the message box that pops up on the screen.

Hope you have understood how to wipe different systems. Do share if you come across any trick.